Top Ten: Girl Crushes

**WARNING: SCANTILY CLAD WOMAN APPEAR IN THIS POST**

“A girlcrush is when a girl admires another girl. It is NOT a sexual attraction. It means you want to BE the person you have a girlcrush on, or simply you just want to be their best friend. You pretty much just think they’re awesome.”

Girl crush as defined by Urban Dictionary.

Anybody who knows me knows that I’m a serial girlcrusher, which is why writing this post is so hard- how am I only going to pick ten?!  My self esteem is low enough that I pretty much girl crush on anybody.  So here are my Top Ten Celebrity(ish) Girl Crushes, in alphabetical order.

Alice

Alice, as in the girl who fell into a rabbit hole and had a fantastic adventure.  As in Lewis Caroll, as in Alice Through The Looking Glass (anybody who didn’t know where the blog title came from just got the most obvious clue they will ever receive).  Yes, she is a fictional character, but that doesn’t stop me girlcrushing over her.  She’s curious beyond belief,  she’s a little bit odd.  Apart from this though, she’s really just your average everyday girl…

Amy Macdonald

She’s Scottish, Her voice is beautiful, she’s amazing both live and recorded.  She’s gorgeous.

Belle

“It’s really not a wonder that her name means beauty, her looks have got no parallel.” 

Yes, she is also fictional but Beauty and the Beast is my favourite Disney movie.  She’s literate, she’s caring, she’s selfless, she’s an outcast.  She has dreams.  She gets proposed to by Gaston, who ever other girl is chasing, and she still has the strength to say no even though it may mean her never getting married. She’s French.

Dita Von Teese

Yes, she does make her living by taking her clothes off.  Let’s just clear something up- she’s not a stripper, she’s a burlesque dancer (“We need to find a new name for burlesque sans striptease.  Burlesque is not a song and dance, nor is it a fashion style.  My goal is to change people’s minds about striptease, to maintain and evolve the history of burlesque, which was risque entertainment.”)

…so she’s a classy stripper okay?  Needless to say I am not girlcrushing all over Dita Von Teese because she is takes her clothes off though, but because she is an incredibly confident woman.  All women should be inspired by her confidence, her self esteem is not at all low, but is not too high either.  Also, I love corsets, always have and always will, and I have yet to find a woman who looks better wearing a corset than this one right hereEven wearing ‘natural’ make-up, like in the far left picture, she is still utterly beautiful.  There was absolutely no doubts about her finding her way into my Top 10, there was a great deal of difficulty in picking which 3 photos to use.

Katy Perry

She’s beautiful, her songs are beautiful, her boobs are beautiful.  I saw her live last year, she is actually a spectacular human being.  She has the most amazing wardrobe, even if she does have an atrocious taste in men (Russell Brand, seriously?!).  I totally girlcrush all over her character Kathy Beth Terry too, but I guess that’s another story.

Ke$ha

My love affair with singer Ke$ha started when she released Tik Tok in 2008.  She is the only person I know who likes glitter as much as I do.  She’s not a Barbie clone like every other person that seems to be getting churned out by the music industry.  She didn’t find fame through reality TV.  In my opinion, she’s incredibly pretty but she looks like a normal human being.  There’s an essence of scene-kid about her that I love.  I love all of her songs, even her unreleased ones (check them out on YouTube).  Her song ‘Suicide’ is one of my most favourite songs ever, it means so much to me.  Kesha is admittedly one of those Marmite artists, you either love her or hate her.  I love her.

Luna Lovegood

Let me begin by clarifying that I am girlcrushing over the fictional character of Luna Lovegood, originally from the novels by JK Rowling prior to being portrayed in the movies, and I am not girlcrushing over Evanna Lynch, the actress who plays Luna in said films.  Not here anyway, there was only one space in the top ten for Harry Potter related girlcrushing.

She’s different, and proud to be.  She exudes confidence in her opinion and is not afraid to stand alone.  I would love to have Luna as a friend, she’s the kind of character who would just make everything in life that little bit more fun, whether it was battling Dark Lords or retrieving shoes from Nargles( Damn those pesky Nargles!).

Mila Kunis

Okay, yes, it’s too predictable.  Mila Kunis has made it into the top ten without a doubt.  I am completely and utterly head over heels in love with her though.  Her hair is amazing, her eyes are amazing, her body is amazing, the characters that she plays automatically become amazing as soon as she steps into the role.  My love affair started with Black Swan, and undeniably blew completely out of proportion when I went to see Friends with Benefits. I would hate to have her as a friend, can you imagine trying to keep up to those standards?

Her biggest flaw is that she’s the voice of Meg in Family Guy, but we’re all allowed to make mistakes right? That’s what makes us human.

P!nk

Aaah, Alecia Moore.  I blogged about 2 of her songs before, but her music is most definitely at the top of my most played list.  Everything she sings about is real life, and it’s not all over manufactured romantic nonsense.  It’s a little bit edgy most of the time.  She’s also, without fail, the most lovely artist that I have ever seen live which you may not expect when you listen to her music.  Everything about her was cute and lovely.

“When my first album was released, I was 19.  I was a brat, and I thought my s**t didn’t stink.  I was angry at the entire world.  I think the difference now is that my anger is a lot more focussed, some of it’s been exercised and I feel proud of myself in a way that I didn’t then.  I like myself a lot more now.  A reason why I think I’m a little bit more adjusted now as a human being is because of all the songwriting- I’ve gotten it out and I’ve been able to scream it at the top of my lungs, in the studio, on stage, in the shower and to the radio.  If there was one piece of advice that I’ve held onto through my career it’s ‘to thine own self be true’.  That you can’t please everyone so you’ve just got to get up in the morning, look yourself in the mirror and like what you see.”

This was part of an interview she did when she released her Greatest Hits album, and I think it’s one of the best interviews to ever come out of the chart music scene.

Taylor Swift

Her face is flawless.  Her hair is perfect.  Her voice is beautiful, and it genuinely pains me to admit that I have yet to hear a song of hers that I don’t like, they’re all so cringeworthy and soppy.

One thought on “Top Ten: Girl Crushes

  1. As much as I love Tay swift as a guilty pleasure music…she’s a serial dater who uses her failed relationships to write songs that make her out to be the victim. And I’m sorry, but being dumped by that many guys implies that she has to be at fault somehow.

Leave a Reply

